Cambridge IGCSE for UK schools

VIDEO: A UK state school prepares to join the Cambridge community.

Over 2500 schools in the UK are now teaching Cambridge IGCSE. It continues to gain popularity with more and more UK schools joining the Cambridge community.

Many Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses are approved for regulation by Ofqual, with more to come. These syllabuses are funded for teaching in state schools in England.

Ofqual-approved syllabuses

The Ofqual-approved syllabuses are listed on the Register of Regulated Qualifications as Cambridge International Level 1/Level 2 Certificates. This is the official title for all Cambridge IGCSEs approved by Ofqual.

Here is a list of the Ofqual-approved syllabuses:

*The syllabuses marked with an asterisk above have a different syllabus code from the Cambridge IGCSE because the content or model of assessment is not exactly the same. All the others are identical. Please see the syllabus document for details.

UK independent schools can offer either the Cambridge IGCSE or the Cambridge International Level 1/Level 2 Certificate version of the syllabus.

School performance tables and the English Baccalaureate

Cambridge IGCSE and reforms to GCSE in England 

We have started to develop new versions of Cambridge IGCSE in First Language English, English Literature and mathematics as an option for schools in England once reformed domestic GCSEs are in use. We plan to submit these syllabuses for accreditation in autumn 2014 and are seeking their inclusion in performance tables from 2017. 

Draft syllabuses will be available from September 2014. Please check back for more information.

To gain a qualification in English for the purposes of the English Baccalaureate and the headline measure five A*–C grades including mathematics and English, students must achieve a grade A* – C in First Language English and any grade in English Literature. The syllabuses do not need to be provided by the same exam board. Please note that English Second Language does not count towards this headline measure.

To count in the English Baccalaureate all three single science qualifications must be taken and grades A*–C achieved in two of them. The science qualifications do not need to be provided by the same exam board and can be a mixture of IGCSE and GCSE qualifications.

From 2013 only the Cambridge International Level 1/Level 2 Certificates will be included in the UK government’s school performance tables and count towards the English Baccalaureate.

Please check the Department for Education website for the latest information on our Ofqual-approved qualifications and updates on which qualifications count towards performance league tables.