Cambridge International AS and A Level recognition

VIDEO: US university admissions staff explain why they value Cambridge qualifications.

Admission to institutions worldwide

Learners use Cambridge International AS and A Levels to gain places at leading universities worldwide including the UK, Ireland, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, Singapore, Egypt, Jordan, South Africa, the Netherlands, Germany and Spain.

The Lisbon Convention (an international agreement signed by 50 countries and international organisations, including the European Union, USA, Australia, Canada, Israel and New Zealand) facilitates the recognition of foreign studies among the signatory countries.

Unless a substantial difference is observed, a qualification issued by one of the signatory parties is recognised by the others. In terms of access to higher education studies, the Lisbon Convention guarantees that holders of an upper secondary school or high school qualification that grants access to tertiary education in their home countries will also meet the general requirements to apply for higher education in the rest of the signatory countries.

Admission to North American institutions

In places such as the United States and Canada, good grades in carefully chosen Cambridge International A Level subjects can result in up to one year of university course credit.

Over 450 US universities accept Cambridge International AS and A Levels, including all Ivy League and Ivy Plus universities. These universities include: Brown University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Harvard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Princeton University, Stanford University, the University of Pennsylvania and Yale University.

Research has been carried out to explore whether Cambridge International AS and A Levels predict readiness for and continued academic success at US universities. Findings from a number of research studies suggest that the Cambridge programme compares favourably with other. more established, acceleration programmes in the US including Advanced Placement (AP) and the International Baccalaureate (IB).

Admission to UK institutions

Cambridge International AS and A Levels are equivalent to the AS and A Levels taken by learners in the UK, and are accepted for entrance to all UK universities.

UCAS is the centralised admissions service through which students must apply to study at UK universities. Find out the A Level entry requirements for specific UK university courses by using the UCAS course search service.

UCAS provides international guides that help to explain UK higher education and how to make a university application through UCAS. These guides have been translated into a number of different languages which you can download from the UCAS website.

Recognition search

Search our recognition database to find out which institutions recognise Cambridge qualifications. You can view details by country and qualification. To search for recognition statements from universities for Cambridge International AS and A Levels, select the following options: ‘Country’, ‘Institution Type’ (select ‘Higher or Further Education’), and ‘General Qualifications’ (select ‘AS/A Levels’).